Worklog Ashida Wii-First Portable

First of all, thanks so much Wesk for putting so much work into the Ashida, and everyone at 4Layers for their work, as well as this community as a whole.
This is my first project so I don't really know how to go about this whole forum thing
I was originally going to paint the case purple but I ended up really liking how the white looked, I am still not sure whether I should get custom buttons and sticks so it can be more uniform, i think white and grey, black, or even white would be cool. Thoughts?

IMG_2517.jpg

This is my progress so far, I am going to work on the batteries and other boards tomorrow. I am missing the volume part until it gets delivered. I need solder wick before I can move the components from my controller to the pcbs but that should be here on monday at the latest.

IMG_2518.jpg

I think I might have messed up the soldering on one or both of the ribbon cable connectors, once I figure out how to use a multi-meter I am going to test them

IMG_2520.jpg
IMG_2521.jpg

:)

Attachments

Quick questions: I looked around but was unsure how the u10 emulation works. Would you recommend using this feature? If so, my understanding is that you wire from the pms u10 solder point, then to the point on the wii board where the actual u10 wire goes? Is this accurate or no? (Nvm found solution) Secondly I saw a recommendation on another post to replace the resistor array, is the resistor array on the wii motherboard, or is it something you need to add yourself? Or is it built into the 4layer boards. Lastly: Is there a guide anywhere that helps with wiring (vga if that makes a difference) displays to the wii? I vaguely remember seeing something somewhere but im not sure

Last edited:

Gman

RTFDS
Staff member